Jan 08, 2019 · If you are between the ages of 18-21, you may use your cell phone only if you use a hands-free device to do so. Wireless headphones or a Bluetooth speaker are allowed, but you cannot use a handheld device while driving. Texting is always prohibited. Drivers who are 21 or older can legally talk on the phone while driving in Arkansas. Again ... Dec 11, 2008 · Delaware law enforcement has issued over 33,000 cell phone citations since the cell phone law went into effect in 2011, state officials said June 21. The federally funded “Phone in One Hand; Ticket in the Other” enforcement program has wrapped in Delaware, with more than 1,500 drivers stopped and cited in the third and final phase. Oct 17, 2018 · Although most states have enacted universal laws banning at least some forms of cell phone use while driving, Montana has not. Despite distracted driving is a significant cause of car accidents in Montana, the state has not passed any statewide texting- or talking-while-driving law. Jun 15, 2018 · What the Cell? Phone-Use Laws for Drivers by State. June 15, 2018. Share Cars.com illustration by Paul Dolan . Whether it was a TV public service announcement or a billboard on the interstate, you ... Despite the fact that there is no Statewide Laws when it comes to cell phone usage while driving, there are certain laws that drivers have to adhere to: Drivers who have learners permits are not permitted to use handheld cell phones in the first 6 months of driving
Despite the fact that there is no Statewide Laws when it comes to cell phone usage while driving, there are certain laws that drivers have to adhere to: Drivers who have learners permits are not permitted to use handheld cell phones in the first 6 months of driving Sep 25, 2014 · Updated April 29, 2019. Michigan Cell Phone Laws. Michigan cell phone laws aren’t as strict as other states since only teens with level 1 and level 2 learner’s permits are restricted from talking on the phone while driving. There is no statewide law banning the use of cell phones while driving for all drivers. 2. Drivers with learner’s permits are prohibited from using handheld cell phones in the first six months of driving. If over 18, drivers may use hands-free cell phones. Apr 30, 2018 · The current cell phone driving laws in Virginia may not be the only laws that will be put into effect. The Virginia State Senate just passed a bill that bans any use of a handheld device while driving, which of course includes cell phones. The bill states that the laws will be revised to ban all handheld cell phone use, including using a GPS system. May 25, 2018 · In addition to these laws, MA also bans the use of cell phones entirely for drivers under 18, passenger bus drivers, and school bus drivers. New Hampshire: Bans all handheld devices for all drivers. All drivers are banned from texting while driving. In addition to these laws, NH also bans the use of cell phones entirely for drivers under 18.
Drivers may use cell phones for texting or calling in case they have a hands-free system installed. All drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using phones even with a handsfree system. Without hands-free capability, legally you can use mobile phones while driving if you are on private property, or in case of an emergency call to law enforcement or other similar service.
Answer:Michigan does not have a law specifically prohibiting cell phone use in a vehicle. A driver who becomes distracted by using a cell phone, and commits a traffic violation could be charged with careless driving, or with the specific violation, such as improper lane use, if they are drifting in and out of their lane. Distracted Driving Laws - Cellphone Use and Text Messaging With the exception of Montana, all states now have distracted driving laws. Of course, the purpose of these laws is to prohibit motorists from doing things while driving that might divert their attention from the road. Jan 27, 2018 · While the state still does not have any laws banning texting specifically, a bipartisan law, Arizona SB 1080, which takes effect in July 2018, will place a total ban on cell phone use for minors ...
Some states are diligent in regards to their phone use and driving laws. They recognize the perils of distracted driving and do what they can to mitigate them. That said, not every state recognizes the hazards of texting or talking while driving. In fact, some states don’t have a single law in place forbidding cell phone use. Indiana law prohibits drivers under the age of 18 from using cell phones or any type of electronic device behind the wheel—including hands-free devices—due to their inexperience and higher statistical probability of being involved in a car accident. Indiana Laws on Texting And Driving Texting and driving seems to be on the rise. The new Wireless Communications Device Law (effective January 1, 2009) makes it an infraction to write, send, or read text-based communication on an electronic wireless communications device, such as a cell phone, while driving a motor vehicle. Sep 25, 2014 · Updated April 29, 2019. Michigan Cell Phone Laws. Michigan cell phone laws aren’t as strict as other states since only teens with level 1 and level 2 learner’s permits are restricted from talking on the phone while driving. Jul 03, 2008 · \State Sen. Jim McClendon, who tried for a half dozen years before getting his texting & driving bill passed into law, has filed similar handheld cell phone legislation. The Alabama texting law calls for primary enforcement. Adult drivers are allowed to use handheld cell phones in the state, but teens are not.
So, even if you think you are a master multi-tasker, the new California hands-free cell phone driving law is going to make using your cell phone while driving that much more costly. Given how risky it is, it makes sense to simply put it down while you are behind the wheel, and avoid any potential accidents or tickets.
Jan 27, 2018 · While the state still does not have any laws banning texting specifically, a bipartisan law, Arizona SB 1080, which takes effect in July 2018, will place a total ban on cell phone use for minors ... Jan 09, 2018 · New Jersey Statute 39: 4-97.3 is New Jersey’s cell phone and driving law. It states cell phone use is illegal unless the phone is “a hands-free wireless telephone or the electronic communication device is used hands free.” Additionally, the placement of the phone or device cannot interfere with safety equipment. Nov 26, 2019 · The bill is titled “ An Act Requiring The Hands-Free Use Of Mobile Telephones While Driving.” Per the new law, anyone operating a motor vehicle cannot touch or hold a mobile electronic device, “except to perform a single tap or swipe to activate, deactivate, or initiate hands-free mode.”